Sachin Tendulkar scores 200, breaks Saeed Anwar’s record of 194 – Kudos to best batsman ever!

I know. I am shouting about Sachin’s 200 two days later and by now most cricket websites and all relevant newspapers have covered the story.

Hence, I am not adding new information about this cricket deity called Sachin Tendulkar, who at the age of 37, achieved something that no one had achieved since the ODI format of the game was invented.

You can check out Little Master’s record and analyze it the way to like, he is the best. Better yet, you may admire some of rare pictures of the master blaster.

There is no doubt that Sachin is the best batsman cricket ever had. But there were other great batsmen too. I am merely reproducing the content here because it is worth sharing. I collected these from various news papers (such as The Times of India) and sites and find them intriguing.

  • “Sachin Tendulkar is the greatest batsman of all time. Better than Brian Lara and Rickey Ponting….better than Viv Richards, Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border. And I would even say, better than Sir Don Bradman himself.” – Nasser Hussain, Former England Captain.
  • “I am happy Sachin broke my record because he is the greatest batsmen of the modern era. His feats speak for themselves.” – Saeed Anwar. (Previously held the record.)
  • “There is just no question about that. He is the greatest batsman the game has ever seen.” – Sunil Gavaskar.
  • “It shows his mental and physical toughness. He’s a player who does not throw away his wicket once he’s set. He always places a huge price on his wicket,” – Dileep Vengsarkar said.
  • “What an innings it was! He came close to achieving it twice. I always felt that Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya are capable of doing that,” – Kumar Sangakkara.
  • “He is my favourite player. I had told that one day he would go on to break all batting records and now you see him scoring runs and runs.” – Javed Miandad.

A passing mention; I am aware that Sachin is not the first one to score 200 in ODI, its Belinda Clarke, and along with Saeed Anwar, the record of 194 was also held by Charles Coventry.

Since I started understanding cricket, that is to say when I came to my senses as a child, Sachin has always been there to watch in almost every match. I wonder how it will feel when he retires. I strongly wish that he plays the next ODI world cup in 2011 and wins it for India. Sachin Tendulkar is an inspiration. Keep going Sachin!

Leave a Reply

